Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

Pan Macmillan

@ Sunday Times Books LIVE

About Pan Macmillan

Contact Pan Macmillan / Picador Africa

The Pan Macmillan / Picador Africa story

Pan Macmillan South Africa is a subsidiary of the Macmillan group in the UK and forms the trade division of the company. In addition to our Macmillan product we also represent a number of international agencies. These include Guinness World Records, Walker Books, Hodder (representing Hodder Wayland and Teach Yourself), Frances Lincoln, Priddy Books, Rodale, Gill & Macmillan and SMP amongst others.

In May 2004, Pan Macmillan launched an exciting new imprint, PICADOR AFRICA. PICADOR AFRICA is an inevitable extension to Picador, Since its UK launch in 1972, Picador has been single-minded in its pursuit of outstanding international writing, a philosophy which has led to critical and commercial success all over the world. Overseas stablemates of Picador UK’s award-winning list of authors – Michael Ondaatje, Tom Wolfe, Julian Barnes, Alice Sebold, Helen Fielding – already include Richard Flanagan and Tim Winton in Australia, Jeffrey Eugenides and Paul Auster in the US, and VS Naipaul in India. In October 2004, The Line of Beauty by Alan Hollinghurst received the Man Booker Award.

As its name suggests, Picador Africa comprises African literature – fiction and non-fiction – written by Africans. The primary aim of the imprint is to raise awareness, both locally and internationally, of the importance and value of African writing. The imprint was introduced with a number of Ravan re-issues and ‘classics’ such as Steve Biko’s I Write What I Like, Ellen Kuzwayo’s Call Me Woman, Mongane Wally Serote’s To Every Birth its Blood and Es’kia Mphahlele’s autobiographical work, Down Second Avenue. By the end of 2004 we had released five new titles by authors Alexandra Fuller, David Cohen, Chris van Wyk, Ahmed Essop and Chris Abani. Our 2005 line-up included works by Professor Tobias, Moses Isegawa, Lisa Fugard and Jonathan Kaplan. In 2006 we have published works by David Medalie, Lewis de Soto, Peter Godwin & Njabulo S Ndebele.


Please register or log in to comment